Convert data from a CSV file to Hourly Chart (Heat Map)

Coding rookie here (only experienced with GH), and this is my first attempt with python so bare with me :smiley:

I’m attempting to build an app utilizing the Annual Hourly Chart (heat map), I’d like to read in an unformatted 8760 CSV file, manipulate it with st.sliders and pandas, and then display it using the heat map chart.

I’m struggling with getting the data into the correct format to display with the LB heat map chart. If I’m using a pandas dataframe, I’m guessing I need to “deconstruct” the dataframe, apply ladybug header, and then dump that into the “get_hourly_data_figure”?

As I’m familiar with the LBT workflow, I attempted to do this by creating a createLBdata function, and first had trouble adding a header, figured out i need to define a specific datatype, and then figured out i needed to add a specific unit. But still ending up with the following error…

when fed into the get_hourly_data_figure & st.plotly_chart functions, i get the following error:

Question being… what is the quickest way to get from a raw 8760 pandas dataframe to ladybug HourlyContinuousCollection to feed into the heatmap chart?

I feel like I’m sloppily close, so any help is appreciated!

1 Like

Following for when I boot up my machine tomorrow to aide

So this Pollination Sample App Compare results of a parametric daylight-factor job should cover what you are trying to do I think?
the sauce can be found:
here git\pollination\sample-apps

Hi @jakechevriersg! Glad to see you have started building your first app. :clap::muscle:

Thanks to @devang we now have some official documentation for developing apps. See this one for creating a heatmap chart with an analysis period.

Let us know if you have any other questions!

1 Like

Thank you both for your replies!