Design Builder or Pollination?

Hello all,

I work as an energy consultant, currently a long time DesignBuilder user. As my DB license has expired I’am evaluating “moving” into Pollination.
Therefore, what I’am thinking is modelling with Rhino and setup the model with the Rhino Pollination plugin, and maybe in the near future purchase the basic cloud computing package.

That being said, I got some questions regarding Pollination, that maybe some DB users may have as well.

1. Thermally talking, is Pollination at the same level as DB?
  2. Could you do the same work DB does with Pollination? (Thinking as Rhino+Rhino Plugin+GH+Pollination)
  3. Can you configurate the model (input parameters) with Pollination at the same detail level DB does?
  4. Does Pollination have the same outputs DB has?
  5. Can you have hourly outputs with Pollination?
  6. Can you export csv data (monthly, hourly, etc) from Pollination?
  7. Can you model detailed hvac systems in Pollination?
  8. Are there construction/openings/lighting/activity/etc to configure the model in Pollination? And flexibility to do customized templates?

what would you recommend? Continue with DB or leave it (I can’t afford both licenses) and use Pollination for thermal and daylight analysis?

Thanks in advance!
Diego C.

Hi, @diegocastro - Thank you for reposting the questions here.

Sounds like a plan. For clarification, you can do everything locally with the Rhino plugin. The cloud computing package is an option to run the studies on the cloud if desired.

Pollination user OpenStudio and EnergyPlus for running simulations. It is the same engine that is used by DesignBuilder.

You have to be more specific here. Generally speaking, you can do much more with Pollination & Ladybug Tools but you might need to build some of the workflows in Grasshopper.