Export Model - Revit Doors Not Showing in Apertures

Hi all - I’m a newbie here so happy if there is an easy answer to this. I’ve gone through the youtube playlist including the new UI updates.

Maybe the simple question is: How do I ensure doors / windows get discovered as apertures? I have some door types that get discovered, but none that I actually want.

As an example, these are the only two doors that show up as available to select:

However, I have many different door types that don’t appear in this dropdown. Thoughts?

1 Like

At the moment not all Doors will be included in that list. Only doors that are modeled as a Curtain Wall Doors, so they can be placed inside of Curtain Walls.

@mostapha do we want to expand this list to ALL DOORS? That could be a lot of door types per project.

I guess it makes sense that there is a section for CW doors, I guess I just mean I would expect normal doors to also have a dropdown atleast somewhere. I’m also having issues getting skylights to appear as well…not sure that’s the same issue tho.

@corymosiman12 I don’t know how to help with skylights unless I can see the model. Please post a link to a sample file, and we can have a look at it. Really quickly though. Are skylights modeled as Windows? Are they inserted into a Roof? Is that roof object used to generate the room object? That would be the case if you are using the Detailed geometry mode. In extruded mode, roofs do not participate in that process, and you won’t get skylights.

@ksobon, I think if we want to include it, it should be in its own category. Similar to Windows vs Curtain Wall Panels.

@corymosiman12, can you elaborate more on why do you want to include these doors in your model? Are they glazed?

I suspect you’re using the extruded floors mode for extracting the model. That might also explain why you don’t see the doors in your model. The doors will be picked up automatically if you use the Full Volume.