Pollination Installing Error Python .exe

Hello every one, I’m having problems with the installation of Polination, also, problem with the old versions of LadybugTools.
The old version have a display error, they act like zombie nodes, dont do nothing, and pollination don’t want to install, I’m not so much of a tech guy, I’m still learning about python and this, I write to the guys from Pollination, they are helping, but, we have a community.
Best regards and sorry for my broken english.
I attach the pics of the errors.

Hi @guillermo-sepulveda, Thank you for posting the issue here.

@mingbo, this is a strange issue that pip throws an error for not having an option for --python. I wonder if the order confuses the command on this particular system.

We can change it to python -m pip install --python {path} ... instead of python -m pip --python {path} install ...

Also, I can’t seem to find the --python option in the documentation but I know the installer works on my machine.

pip install - pip documentation v23.1.2

The option is documented here:

https://pip.pypa.io/en/stable/cli/pip/#cmdoption-python

I did some digging and the --python option has been added in pip version 22.3.

https://pip.pypa.io/en/stable/news/#v22-3

We do package Python and Pip with our installer which means you should not face this issue but managing the Python environment is not simple and things can happen!

From what I can see we use pip 22.3.1 but @mingbo should confirm. I’m not sure what is the best way to fix this. Should we upgrade to a newer version of pip?

@guillermo-sepulveda, assuming that your computer is switching to a different version of pip can you try opening the CMD as an admin and run this command: python.exe -m pip install --upgrade pip?

Then close the CMD and run the installer as an admin. FYI, the installer should always be executed as an admin.

1 Like