Energy simulation for a Data Center

@mostapha , @chriswmackey

EnergyPlus has added the Large Data Center BuildingType which is accessible via the Pollination Revit Plugin. See the [link]

The HVAC Layout for large data centers typically is a Computer Room Air handling Unit with Central Chille/

Im pretty new to energy modeling so I am wondering how to implement the CRAH HVAC layout via a pollination recipe or honeybee grasshopper script.

1 Like

Doesn’t look like the original link was posted.

here it is:
prototype_energy_models_for_data_centers.pdf (lbl.gov)

According to the paper, a new Building Type has been added to EnergyPlus to represent small and large data-center building types. This could be very useful for Data Center builders.

I can access the type in Pollination; however we are not certain to complete the energy analysis.

Hi @moses-woolpert ,

Do you have a specific question here? It seems like you have found that we provide program types with pollination that describe data centers, which were taken from the DoE prototype buildings referenced in that PDF.

Assigning those to your Rooms will give them electric equipment loads and schedules that align with those of the data center prototype model.

Is your question about which HVAC system template included in Pollination best fits the description of a “Computer Room Air handling Unit with Central Chiller”? If so, I would probably choose a Variable Air Volume (VAV) system:

… and just make sure that you choose one of the options with “chiller” in the “HVAC Equipment Types”:

If you assign a separate one of these VAV systems for each computer room, you will effectively get an OpenStudio model where each computer room has its own AHU but they are all connected to a central chilled water loop like that PDF describes. And you’ll effectively have something that satisfies practically all of the criteria for the Large Data Center described in this table taken from the PDF: